Return to Headlines

Staff Members Receive Praise as Teachers of the Year

Seventeen D49 teachers received accolades from principals, and recommendations from students and parents to prompt selection as their school’s Teacher of the Year.

 Teachers of the Year honored in D49 Aug. 9.

The Board of Education honored each of them during Fantastic 49 festivities before their regular monthly meeting Aug. 9. Each staff member received a plaque with remarks summarizing their work in the district.

Every teacher spoke humbly when recognized. “I have to thank the staff I work with every day at Meridian Ranch,” shared Laura Anderson. “I can’t be my best without working with the best.”


Lori McCoy joined the team at Remington Elementary School only a few years ago. “The past three years have been the happiest of my career,” shared McCoy. “That’s because of Lisa Fillo and Sean Dorsey.”


SCHS teacher, Nathan Wood, also voiced gratitude. “Thanks to my team at school. I work with a great group of people … we are like a family,” he shared.


Congratulations to the following District 49 Teachers of the Year:


Laura Anderson - Meridian Ranch Elementary School

Jennifer Aubain - Springs Studio for Academic Excellence

Susan Beiner - Springs Ranch Elementary School

Layne Cerrone - Evans International Elementary School

Teresa Hinote – Academy for Literacy, Learning and Innovation Excellence

Carolyn Jones - Falcon Elementary School of Technology

Sheila Kelly - Odyssey Elementary School

Karen Leonhardt - Horizon Middle School

Tami Lupton - Woodmen Hills Elementary School

Lori McCoy - Remington Elementary School

Lura Moore - Skyview Middle School

Nathan Pearsall - Vista Ridge High School

David Ritz - Stetson Elementary School

Adrianne Ryland - Pikes Peak Early College

Tim Scheck - Falcon Middle School

Katie Stafford - Ridgeview Elementary School

Nathan Wood - Sand Creek High School


After selection as Teacher of the Year for their individual school, each D49 staff member completed a lengthy application to compete for Colorado Teacher of the Year. The state-level Teacher of the Year award will be announced late 2018.

To see more photos, visit our Facebook post.

Amy Matisek
719-495-1149, ext. 2136