Return to Headlines

District Celebrates Top Teachers, Shining Stars

A distinguished group of District 49 teachers and staff members received accolades from the board of education and D49 leaders before the regular monthly board meeting Aug. 13 at the Creekside Success Center. Principals and department leaders nominated the Teachers of the Year, Support Stars and Service Stars for 2019-20 for their contributions that led to top honors within D49.

Jesse Tomkins, teacher at PEAK Education Center, is honored during Fantastic 49 Aug. 13.

The August Fantastic 49 celebration honored educators and staff members from the Sand Creek Zone, iConnect Zone, central office, PEAK Education Center and employees who serve students districtwide. District 49 will recognize Teachers of the Year, Support Stars and Service Stars from the POWER and Falcon Zones Oct. 8.

To honor the preferences of those recognized, some honorees attended the celebration in-person, and some participated by watching the live stream.

Congratulations to the following D49 staff members:

2020 Teachers of the Year

Teri Armes, Springs Ranch Elementary School

Beth Kochevar, Sand Creek High School

Jaclyn McKinney, Horizon Middle School

Amy Rowles, Patriot High School

Adrianne Ryland, Pikes Peak Early College

Gina Sheets, Remington Elementary School

Jesse Tomkins, PEAK Education Center

Kara Wichman, Springs Studio for Academic Excellence

Amanda Wilson, Evans Elementary School

Sue Griepentrog is celebrated as a 2020 Service Star during the Fantastic 49 presentation Aug. 13.

2020 Support Stars

Dale Dishaw, district locksmith, facilities department

Bruce Jilek, building manager, Patriot High School

Diego Martin, warehouse courier, nutrition services

Jann Nuttall, early childhood paraprofessional, Remington Elementary School

Heather Pietraallo, registrar/attendance secretary, Horizon Middle School

Zach Prince, certified occupational therapy assistant, motor team department

Sarah Reed, senior staffing specialist, human resources department

Ehco Renzelman, bus paraprofessional, transportation department

Laurie Schink, student success coach, Springs Studio & Pikes Peak Early College

Jacob Vigil, paraprofessional, PEAK Education Center

Michelle Wortkoetter, administrative assistant, iConnect Zone

Laurie Schink with SSAE and PPEC is celebrated during the Fantastic 49 presentation Aug. 13.

2020 Service Stars

Sarah Brockberg, special education teacher – adaptive physical education, districtwide

Tiffany Goodman, school social worker, Patriot High School

Sue Griepentrog, special education teacher of deaf and hard of hearing, districtwide

Rezzella Harris, school psychologist, districtwide

Rocio Padilla, school counselor, Remington Elementary School

Erika Radcliff, school nurse, nursing services department

Amy Matisek