Return to Headlines

Staff Recognized for Demonstrating Mission, Vision

Team members in District 49 are committed to making D49 the “best choice to learn, work and lead.” During the Oct. 14 Fantastic 49 celebration, district leaders and board of education members thanked 38 employees for their work in delivering on that promise.

READ Camp staff member is celebrated during Fantastic 49 Oct. 14.

Festivities were kicked off by honoring staff who showed dedication to learning by facilitating summer READ Camps. “Just as we expect our students to demonstrate growth in their learning, teachers must also evolve in their craft,” shared Stacey Franklin, coordinator of literacy performance. “These teachers took on challenges and worked tirelessly for four weeks during break for students in READ camp. Their inspiration was remarkable, especially with our record enrollment of over 300 students.”

READ Camp honorees included Melissa Ardolf, Jamie Calhoun, Amy Chaltry, Linda DeVries, Amy DeWeerd, Jessica Escobedo, Emma Fawcett, Jacqueline Gutierrez, Shawn Healy, Patsy Dowell, April Jakovac, Eleanor Lambert, David Laughter, Aaron Lentner, Danielle Mayer, Margaret McBride, Lori McCoy, Erin McGovern, Meredith Meyer, Wendy Murphy, Linda Newell, Jamie Obertubbesing, Karen Parks, Lisa Perret, Stephanie Peterson, Rozhgar Piper, Jodi Price, Jessica Ralls, Janetta Roberts, Yuki Rockwell, Wendi Sidney, Susan Smith, Vanessa Steenbock and Taylor Walsh.

Next, Bruce Brown, facility project manager, received accolades for his pledge to make D49 a great place to work. He not only impacts where students learn, but also the facilities where colleagues work. “His organization skills are very strong … his communication skills are very strong,” said Pedro Almeida, chief operations officer. “The thing that he brings to the district that is phenomenal is his fit into our cultural compass. He brings a tremendous amount of positivity to everything he does.”

The event wrapped up by recognizing employees who are models with exceptional leading. The three Safety and Security Specialists David Glenn, Robert Konz and David Pratt were honored for taking the lead on laying out new safety procedures. “All three of them have hands-on support in all the schools they work in. They are the key points of training and response, and they do a lot of advising and teaching, and support school drills,” shared Almeida. “They simply are outstanding professionals, and we cannot overstate their impact. 

Fantastic 49 is the district’s recognition program that celebrates fantastic staff, students and community members before board of education meetings. A sincere thank you to Air Academy Federal Credit Union, Dion’s and Texas Roadhouse for donating gift cards for all honorees.

Fantastic 49 certificate for Bruce Brown.Safety and security specialists receive honors during Oct. 14 Fantastic 49.Bruce Brown shares remarks as an honoree during the Oct. 14 Fantastic 49 presentation.

Amy Matisek