Education Office Overview

  • District 49's education office provides a wide range of support to zones, schools and individual classrooms across the district's portfolio of schools.

    The mission of District 49, set by the Board of Education is: To prepare students, in a safe and caring environment, to be successful, competent and productive citizens in a global society.

    Chief education officer Peter Hilts and the education office guide the programs that serve the execution of the mission on a daily basis. From safety and security, learning services and assessment to cultural capacity and communications, the "five big rocks" of the district's strategic plan play a critical role in leading every student in the district to success.

    Strategic planning on a district level while maintaining the localized autonomy and leadership of the Falcon, POWER, Sand Creek and iConnect zones has reduced centralized administration since the district innovation plan was adopted in 2010. This plan has saved over $1 million since its inception by putting more of the traditional school district administration responsibilities into the individual building level, closer to the district's learners.
  • Peter Hilts
    Chief Education Officer
    Office: 719.495.1119
    Barbara Seeley
    CEO Executive Assistant
    Office: 719.495.1119
    Amber Whetstine
    Executive Director of Learning Services
    Office: 719.494.8951 or 719.494.8955
    Nancy Lemmond
    Individualized Education Executive Director
    Office: 719.494.8913
    Kathlynn Jackson
    Spec. Ed. Director
    Office: 719.495.1116
    Elaine Cunningham
    Early Childhood TOSA
    Office: 719.494.8841
    Matt Meister
    Communications Director
    Office: 719.495.1151
    Paul Andersen
    Human Resources Director
    Office: 719.495.1156
    Mary Perez
    Concurrent Enrollment Director
    Office: 719.495.5533
    Sue Holmes
    Falcon Zone Superintendent
    Office: 719.495.5555
    Sean Dorsey
    Sand Creek Zone Superintendent
    Office: 719.495.1175
    Mike Pickering
    POWER Zone Superintendent
    Office: 719.494.8812
    Andy Franko
    iConnect Zone Superintendent
    Office: 719.495.1100
    Nikki Lester
    Career and Technical Education Director
    Office: 719.495.1149, ext. 2028
    Louis Fletcher
    Culture and Services Director
    Office: 719.495.1105