2019 Coordinated Election Updates


    School board members are elected at regular biennial school elections, which will be held on November 5, 2019.  District 49 has a director district plan of representation.

    Three Board of Education seats currently held by Joshua Fry, John Graham and Marie La Vere-Wright will be on the election ballot on Tuesday, November 5, 2019.  At this election, three school board director seats from director districts 2, 3 and 4 respectively will be open to candidates interested in serving as a board director for a term of office of four years.

    A candidate for the school board must be a resident of District 49 and a registered voter for at least twelve (12) consecutive months prior to the election.  The person must be a resident of the director district in which he or she is a candidate. No person who has been convicted of a sexual offense against a child is eligible to serve on the school board.

    A person who desires to be a candidate for school director shall file a written notice of intention to be a candidate and a nomination petition in accordance with law.  The first day that nomination petitions can be picked up and circulated is Wednesday, August 7, 2019.  For more information, contact Donna Garza, District 49 Designated Election Official, at 719-495-1128 or dgarza@d49.org.  Normal business hours are Monday through Friday 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Please schedule an appointment.