Board of Education Directors


  • The District 49 Board of Education works to advance excellence in public education through effective leadership by locally elected directors. The Board of Education is comprised of five directors that represent five specific areas of the school district. See which director district your home is in on the interactive map, below.

    The Colorado Association of School Boards was established in 1940 to provide a structure through which school board members could unite in their efforts to promote the interests and welfare of Colorado’s 178 school districts. CASB represents and advocates for more than 1,000 school board members and superintendents statewide to groups both within and outside the K–12 education community. CASB provides services, information and training programs to support school board members as they govern their local districts. Membership benefits and solutions are designed to enhance school board effectiveness and help board members increase their knowledge, boost their efficiency and connect with their communities.

Director Districts

  • District 49 provides educational opportunities in more than 133 square miles of suburban and rural areas, from Colorado Springs to the Falcon area of El Paso County. In November 2015, the district's electorate approved an option to ensure local representation. The approved ballot measure changed the school district's plan of representation from five at-large seats to five director districts.
    During an election, only voters who reside within the boundaries of a director district are eligible to cast a vote for that district's candidate, so voters may choose who will best represent their area. The number of board directors will never exceed five, and each area of the district's community will have an opportunity to elect a director for a four-year term.
    In February 2023, the direct districts were updated to satisfy D49’s statutory obligation to establish districts that are compact, congruent, and as equivalent in population as possible.
    Legend for Director Districts


    Either search for a residence on the map, or input the street address and click on the lot.
Lanette DePaul
Senior Executive Assistant to the Board of Education
Phone: 719-495-1128

Meeting Information

  • Board of Education Meetings begin at 6:30 p.m., on the second Thursday of each month. Board of Education Work Sessions are scheduled for the fourth Wednesday of the month unless otherwise noted. 
    More information available on the BOE Meeting Page
    Meeting Packets: As we begin a new school year, we are taking full advantage of the software we are using with BoardDocs and will not be recreating the content on this site as we have done in the past. The 2022-2023 Board of Education meetings information, documents, agendas, minutes, etc. can all be found on BoardDocs.

Live Stream